Alcoa has a city manager form of government with an elected board of five commissioners that serve four-year terms. A mayor and vice-mayor are chosen from among the commissioners. The city manager is appointed by the board of commissioners and is in charge of the everyday operations and management of the City.

The City has nine departments that serve its citizens: Administration, Economic Development, Finance, Police, Fire, Public Works, Electric, Planning and Codes, and Human Resources.